highly allergic to splendor

Actually May Might Be the Cruellest Month

My entire May calendar is cancellations.

I have one of those old-fashioned, paper, week-at-a-glance calendars. Anyone still related to the school system knows that the month of May is usually chock full of nuts. But now my Sundays are spent flipping the page, not to see what’s next, but to see what we will be crossing off. So far: Senior Awards Day, Musical Theatre Coffeehouse, Last Chance Track Meet, Prom (photos, dinner, dance), Austin and Meredith’s wedding, and a flight to Michigan. Coming up (or not) in the next few weeks: a show at the UT Theatre, track sectionals, Baccalaureate, 24th wedding anniversary celebration, high school graduation, graduation lock-in, and any kind of Mother’s Day that requires advanced preparation. (Best of luck to me and our moms. In all fairness, I did order myself new Birks and a Marimekko tent-shaped dress from Uniqlo so that’s something.)

I don’t want to cancel anything else. Like the pool, swim team, volleyball tryouts, camp, college orientation, summer. But I hold all of those loosely, hoping we still get something in exchange for the coming mosquito plague. (I mean screw the murder hornets; we already have enough upcoming pestilence!) It is hard to live a forward-facing life when there is nothing to look forward to.

This sounds more depressing than I am. I can rally for another walk, another drive-by something, more takeout, more Netflix. I just need to put those things on the calendar.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Actually May Might Be the Cruellest Month

  1. Pam Clifton on said:

    ❤️❤️🧡

Leave a comment